Only JDK 8 will build with expo run:android - is that correct?

I’m using react-native-firebase and some of its plugins. I’ve run the expo prebuild --clean command and then expo run:android.

I’m currently forced to use JDK 8 or I receive a number of version-related errors for later JDKs.

All of the latest editors I’ve downloaded, from eclipse to VS Code, don’t seem to support JDK 8 anymore. You need to install older versions, by the looks of it: eg Eclipse Luna.

I’ve managed to get the command to work with Netbeans, which still allows JDK 8 to be used.

I feel as if I’ve done something wrong here, and that it may be related to gradle. I’m new to Java and React Native, so I’ve no idea what the issue is.

I can’t find anything in the documentation about the required JDK version.

Does anyone else need to use JDK 8?

When I initially ran expo run:android, it downloaded a gradle file automatically. I’m wondering if it downloaded it incorrectly and what needs to be done to fix the problem if that’s the case…

Hi @cmadden

With Expo (or React Native) you are generally writing JavaScript or TypeScript code and not Java/Kotlin/Objective C/Swift etc. so unless you can’t find a library that does something you absolutely need and you have to do it in native code, you are not going to need a Java IDE.

But if you do need to write some Java for your Android app you should probably be using Android Studio.

Thanks for the replay @wodin - but maybe I haven’t explained the issue correctly.

This stackoverflow thread somewhat explains the problem.

I had JDK 16 on the PC. I eventually managed to get JDK 8 working through a VS Code extension (so I could leave JDK at the latest on the PC). It’s compiling correctly now.