What is the workflow for developing apps that use Bluetooth?

I’m developing an iOS app that requires BLE but am confused as to the current state and workflow for getting Bluetooth into my app using Expo’s tools.

So far I gather there are some constraints that I must work around:

• Simulator does not support Bluetooth
  • Expo Go does not support Bluetooth

So (and I’m new to this so be patient) I gather that means I must either

• expo run:ios -d and run on a connected device, or
  • eas build -p ios and download to devices.

But what’s unclear (and I may not even have the above quite right, in fact I’d be happy to know that it’s not that complex) is how to access Bluetooth in the first place. I see that the Expo API provides access to all kinds of platform functionality, but don’t see Bluetooth anywhere there. I gather that in order to use Bluetooth, I must use react-native-ble-plx (ignoring the part where it says my project needs to be “ejected”?) for which I need to add a corresponding plugin with

yarn add @config-plugins/react-native-ble-plx expo-dev-client

and and the corresponding entry under expo.plugins in my app.json.

Do I have that right? Will those steps then give me access to platform Bluetooth (though not in Expo Go or Simulator)?

I’d try this all myself, but it’s unclear to me what instructions are current and which ones are old, and in any case in order to do this (specifically expo run:ios -d or eas build -p ios) I will need to start paying for an Apple Developer account sooner than I had intended and buy a new Mac.

Finally, I wonder whether (and like to hope that) using the corresponding (react-native-blemulator) might obviate the need for all of this by making it unnecessary to actually use Bluetooth at all (doing initial development) so that I could continue to use Expo Go and Simulator?

Hi @orome