What is the best practice for creating push notification certificate?

1. SDK Version: Whatever
  2. Platforms(Android/iOS/web/all): Android/iOS

Hi. I am new with push notifications and I would like to know what could it be the best practice for creating a key certificate. Obiously, this certifcate has to be expired any time, so:

1. should I create a push notification certiificate only once per device and this should be when the user register it self at the first time in the app like a new user?
  2. Or should I to create a new certificate everytime the user close and open a session?
  3. Where must I control expired certificates because users could not be receiveing notifys
  4. What is the expring time for a certificate.

Thanks for your help.

Hey @aexelm,

I would recommend reading our section on this from our docs: Push Notifications Setup - Expo Documentation

You’ll want to use a Push Notification Key (PNK) rather than push certs. PNKs don’t expire like certs do.

Cheers,
Adam

Thanks Adam. I am closer to understand alnost everything. ;}.

But, now I have another important question.
I’ve reached to run perfectly notifications in developement mode. I mean everything is working fine with expo app on real device. But when I build the apk it seems not working when try to get the token key. I am not sure because once built the apks, I can’t make a debbug.

I 've upgraded SDK version to 39.0.0
And the last expp cli
For now, i am just deploying for Android
I ve registered on FBC my app for android and its supposed everything was ok, but I dont know if I 'm missing something else.
OHH… I run expo certifcate:manage too and registered a key found in a json provided by FBC registering.

Any help will be gratefull…

Thanks a lot.
Exel

Pda. Sorry for my english

Hey @aexelm,

Can you let me know what FBC is? When dealing with Android notifications, you want to make sure you have configured and enabled FCM.

Cheers,
Adam