What database would YOU use to build a new social app to (hopefully) scale to 100K users?

I’m new to this, but it seems to be that the least painful way to write an “offline first” social network app would be to use a auto-synching database like Google “Cloud Firestore” or Realm Object Server because I believe it would greatly reduce the amount of server-side REST or GraphQL programming.

The client-side React Native code would just be driven by local objects that would auto-persist to the cloud.

(BTW, even if Realm was supported by Expo I couldn’t use it because Realm Object Server [self-hosted, no less…] costs over $2,000 for 500 users… so getting to 100K would bankrupt me.)

Any feedback? What would YOU use? What is the current state-of-the-art or best practice? Seems every app developer immediately hits this architecture issue and has to pick something!

• Graphql supports a certain type of subscription that seems scalable.
  • Also, mongoDB is about to add some kind of notification event system: https://jira.mongodb.org/browse/SERVER-13932 , and mongo should be pretty cheap to host.
  • Not sure what amazon offers in this space…
  • Meteor.js also makes subscriptions easy to get up and running, but not sure it’s going to easily scale to 100k users… but then again what will “easily” scale to 100k users. (some interesting discussion here)
  • Have you considered just choosing whatever the easiest solution is for now, get to 5-20k users, and then consider more scalable options? Or are you 100% guaranteed to hit 100k users within the first 6 months of launching so the scalability is a major concern immediately? 9/10 apps end up bombing anyway, so it’s always good to avoid worrying about 100k users before you even have 1 user.