[SDK 35] SplashScreen flashes

Please provide the following:

1. SDK Version: 35
  2. Platforms(Android/iOS/web/all): iOS TestFlight

I use SplashScreen.preventAutoHide(); in the constructor of my AppEntry Component. And hide it manually when everything is loaded with SplashScreen.hide();

This all seems to work fine in the simulator. However in the TestFlight App it does something weird. The first time I open the App it’s still just fine: SplashScreen shows and next the start screen shows. But when I force quit the App and open it again, the following happens:

• The SplashScreen shows
  • Then flashes the start screen of the App
  • The SplashScreen shows (again)
  • The SplashScreen hides (again) and the start screen of the App shows (again)

How is this possible if I call SplashScreen.preventAutoHide(); and SplashScreen.hide(); only once?

I’m no expert, but is putting SplashScreen.preventAutoHide(); in the constructor the right place? The symptoms you described sounds like normal React behavior: whenever state changes, your app will “refresh” in the background, so this could be the reason why you see flickering.

According to the docs, place SplashScreen.preventAutoHide(); in componentDidMount(). There’s also an example if you’re using AppLoading.

If you look at the last example in the docs you see that SplashScreen.preventAutoHide(); is called in the constructor. And I think that’s the right place because you want to prevent hiding before the first render.

And I’am not exactly sure what you mean with “normal React behavior” but the issue occurs when force quitting the app and opening it again. So there shouldn’t be a “refresh” in the background, right?

If you look at the last example in the docs

My bad. It could be something else.

So there shouldn’t be a “refresh” in the background, right?

Yea, sounds weird. This is out of my league.

It could be a glitch? You could try asking on GitHub.

Some other thoughts when narrowing down the cause: