react native expo ssl pinning

I’m studying React Native Expo for the first time, and while looking for security, I saw ssl pinning. I wonder how to use it and whether it can be used in expo

thank you :slight_smile:

Hi! What exactly are you looking for? There are ssl pinning libraries, so you can use them for sure

I’ve been looking for information about ssl pinning before, but it said that I had to eject to do it. I want to know if it is possible with expo, which library to use, and how to use it.

thank you :slight_smile:

Hi @dbekdud

A few months ago, ejecting would have been the only possibility. These days with EAS Build it is often possible to use dependencies that include native code. You might need a config plugin to get it to work, though.

If I search for “react native ssl pinning” I find a library called react-native-ssl-pinning.

The instructions for the above are a little confusing at times, but all you need from the Getting Started section is one of the following:

If you use npm:

npm install react-native-ssl-pinning
or
npm install --legacy-peer-deps react-native-ssl-pinning

If you use yarn:

yarn add react-native-ssl-pinning

The Usage section is where things get more confusing. But basically you get the certificate and convert it to DER format. There’s one way to do that under the “Create the certificates” subsection.

Up until this point there’s nothing that indicates that a config plugin would be needed, but then we get to the iOS subsection:

iOS

• drag mycert.cer to Xcode project, mark your target and ‘Copy items if needed’
  • (skip this if you are using certificate pinning) no extra step needed for public key pinning, AFNetworking will extract the public key from the certificate.

I have trouble understanding exactly what they mean by the above, but either way it seems you need to change the Xcode project for this to work. This means that you would indeed need to either eject or write a config plugin to get this to work. :frowning: