Problems with updating project modules

This is my first time posting, so I apologize in advance if I am doing something wrong (like wrong section of the forum or missing details, happy to follow up with an edit).

I am having some problems updating an existing project (I stopped working on it about 4 months ago and now I would like to return to it). At first I was having issues with expo being out of date, but I believe I resolved that problem by first updating node to a more recent version and then updating expo to a more recent version.

My current issue seems to be the following six modules:

1. fs-extra
  2. terminal-link
  3. chalk
  4. getenv
  5. commander
  6. @expo/xdl

The issue with them is that after updating expo I would get this error after I ran the command npm start: Error: cannot find module_name (where module name is a filler for the six above). After looking through some stack overflow posts and google searches I decided to just npm install them globally.

Now, I do not know if I should or should not have done that, but I was just trying to get my project to run. My current issue (after installing all six of those modules) is this:

I see that the commander module is having some issue with name clashing, but I have no idea what this means. I tried to read though the github repo and readme, but I am confused. I believe the answer to my problem is in this section. Furthermore, I should be using a file like so.

However, I do not understand what any of this is doing and I tried to create that file in the root folder of my project, but that did not seem to work, so I am just quite lost here.

I guess I am looking for help in terms of whether or not I should be using those modules. If I should be, then how do I proceed with the error I am currently getting? If I should not be using those modules, should I downgrade expo or something? I’ve been struggling with this for a few days now and I feel like I’m quite out of my depth here.