Major issues trying to run react native, expo, vs code, android studio

Hello. I am brand new to React-Native and Expo. I’ve encountered major major issues at ever step of the way. It is hard to even begin because I’ve gotten so many errors and issues. Here is a very brief and incomplete rundown of the issues. I’m happy to provide more details. I feel like there is a big picture issue wrong because so many things are going wrong.

1. Virtual Android devices constantly crash or can’t load. After this happens once I am unable to open the developer menu and must delete the virtual device.
  2. I can’t successfully run a debugger is chrome or VS code with the virtual device. The virtual device crashes and has to be deleted. At this point it would tell me in VS Code that packager was running outside VS Code. Despite closing all applications this continued.
  3. I was unable to publish to expo despite deleting the .expo file and clearing the cache.
  4. This one was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I tried deleting my app folder to get a fresh start. Windows refuses to delete because “the folder is open in another program”. As far as I can tell nothing is open!

Sorry for the non-specific post but after more than a week of fighting this I have no idea how to move forward. Any help would be much appreciated.

1. this sounds like there is something wrong with your machine or your installation of the android virtual device. i have never encountered it and i’m not sure what has gone wrong. you can run npx react-native doctor to get more information, potentially.