Long time to publish?

Hi I’m new to React Native/Expo. Although I have a very small project (about 1.9Mbs all assets and code)… when I go to publish it takes a long time. Am I doing something wrong? Here is the log from the Expo XDE:

7:52:08 PM Publishing…

7:52:16 PM Building iOS bundle

7:52:16 PM Building JavaScript bundle: finished in 926549ms.

8:06:00 PM Building Android bundle

8:07:44 PM Building JavaScript bundle: finished in 912119ms.

8:21:13 PM Analyzing assets

8:22:57 PM Building JavaScript bundle: finished in 911774ms.

8:38:10 PM Building JavaScript bundle: finished in 907712ms.

8:53:18 PM Uploading assets

8:53:21 PM No assets changed, skipped.

8:53:21 PM Uploading JavaScript bundles

8:53:25 PM Published

Does my build get compiled on my computer or sent off somewhere to compile? I’m using the Desktop Expo Client for Windows.

1 Like

Hey, Good Morning.

You aren’t doing anything wrong. On mobile world everything takes a while.
But, XDE use a excellent cache on their builds, if you wanna try, you can modify a file and try publish again. You will see that it goes just more faster!

Your internet connection can influences on waiting time.

I hope i’ve helped!

Hi victorwads, thanks for the reply. When you say internet connection can influence, does that mean my project is built not locally on my computer? Sorry I’m just trying to understand how this works. Alternately, if I were to not use expo and just create-react-native would I be building my app locally?

When you use exp publish you are using EXPO CDN to publish your js bundle online.

The js build itself works on your computer, but after that, this is uploaded to EXPO to can be accessible to your’s users!

I never user react-native without expo, but i know that is everything more easy with expo. Without expo u will need to do a lot of native codes on both Android and IOS languages. But, if you aren’t using Expo API’s, you can exclude expo of your project.

1 Like