Linking in managed expo since SDK36

Newbie here, please be gentle!

Since upgrading to SDK36 and RN61, I seem unable to use some libraries. Like /react-native-device-info or the latest stack naviagor
https://reactnavigation.org/docs/en/getting-started.html

The expo client in my IoS Simulator tells me to react-native link if <= 0.59 or use cocoaPods in my ios folder.

In managed expo, I don’t have an ios folder. I suppose that sort of thing is taken care of on the build server when I run expo build:ios

I must have a blind spot, because for a week now I have found only tips on how to do this in xCode projects, or in a bare or ExpoKit set up. They say things like this:

cd ios
pod install
cd .

e.g. Redirecting to https://reactnavigation.org/docs/getting-started

Is managed expo with SDK36 now restricted to libraries that don’t require linking?
Thanks

Hi, and welcome!

You’ve never been able to link libraries in the managed workflow, are you sure this was working prior to SDK 36? For information on the device, we added in the Device module, which you can use in the managed workflow instead of react-native-device-info

createStackNavigator should work in the managed workflow, so can you share a repro for this issue?

1 Like

Hi

What might be confusing is that although in Expo’s managed workflow you cannot use random modules that require linking, Expo already includes a bunch of modules that would require linking normally. I mean they are already linked in Expo, so there’s no need for you to link them.

For react-navigation-stack I had problems when trying to upgrade to version 2.x, but version 1.10.3 works for me and definitely doesn’t require linking. So I believe a 1.x version of the native part of react-navigation-stack is linked with Expo’s SDK 36.

Thanks for responding, Charlie and Wodin. Very kind of you to help.