Is there no existing package to do basic JWT Auth?

It seems weird to have to build one from scratch. I have my web app on Vue.js and I used a nice package but for a community as vast as RN, I don’t see a basic Auth system with a login screen that interacts with my REST API , refreshes tokens, sends tokens on every authenticated request. Any ideas?

Hey @aligajani!

I suggest checking out AuthSession - Expo Documentation, this is the API Expo provides for adding browser-based authentication to your app.

Charlie, I’m looking for JWT based Auth. This one doesn’t help much as I looked at it before.

@aligajani, Oauth is just a framework, and JWT is a type of token. So you can use OAuth with JWT tokens

I don’t see much guidance on the page regarding JWT as I’m completely new to Expo and RN community

Have you tried expo-jwt - npm, which I came across via a web search? I haven’t used it, am about to try it for my application. It seems that JWT is a standard, and I’m sure most Expo apps must consume an API, and authentication must surely be via JWT. (Perhaps I’m wrong?!?!)

I did check. This is for decoding and encoding tokens. Not for my use.

What library do you use in Vue? Kind of curious how much of this could be packaged in a library on the RN side. Heck, maybe you could build it! :slight_smile: (or me, I could use something like this at some point).