iOS builds with old build numbers crash on restart after minor version bump

Some preliminaries:

• Managed workflow
  • eas-cli/0.41.1 darwin-x64 node-v16.3.0
  • expo: ~43.0.3
  • expo-updates: ~0.10.13 (possibly relevant)

I’m still very new to Expo, so not exactly sure what I should include here.

We deploy using EAS and are currently only focused on iOS. We’ve run into an issue where all 1.0.* builds crash on the second startup; i.e. I can install any 1.0.* build using TestFlight, and it runs fine; completely functional. As soon as I close the app and restart, it crashes and will never open again. However, 1.1.* builds work fine, even though there is very little difference between the first of the 1.1.* builds and the last of the 1.0.* builds.

As a test, I pulled down the commit from the 1.0.56 build. I renamed the build and version number to 1.1.4 and pushed it up to TestFlight. This version works fine - no crashes after closing the app.

Notably, the 1.1.* builds do include a new package in package.json, react-native-svg. If that were the problem, I wouldn’t expect simply renaming 1.0.56 to 1.1.4 to have resolved the issue.

To reiterate - literally the only difference between 1.1.4 and 1.0.56 is the expo.version number and expo.ios.buildNumber in app.config.ts. Yet one functions completely fine and the other crashes.

This is puzzling.

My understanding is that EAS doesn’t publish JS updates automatically, and we currently don’t use expo publish. I bring this up because I found something interesting in the expo-updates documentation:

If your app.json does not contain an updates.fallbackToCacheTimeout field it will default to 0 and expo-updates will attempt to start your app immediately with a cached bundle while downloading a newer one in the background for future use. When using this configuration, users that download the app from a store and launch it for the first time will always see the version of the app that the binary was built against.