How to run local HTML/JS SPA with expo and WebView

Hi Guys,

I am very new to expo and just try to understand how to run in one of my view a small SPA via WebView and serves the js/css/html code via a react-native-static-server

I always end up with:
TypeError: null is not an object (evaluating ‘FPStaticServer.start’)
when I try to run my app.

Did anyone successful run a WebView with local files?
Thanks

Hi Lumen,

It is because react native static server requires ios/android setup. That is not an option by default in Expo in managed flow. Per default you can either use the native packages the expo team has ported to expo or packages that are written solely in JavaScript

But it is possible with the newest features of expo. It is not something I have dived into yet, but here is some resources:

Another solution is to jump out of the expo managed flow:

Hi @rcknti

Thanks for your reply. I just deep dived in the documentation and understood now the difference between managed and bare workflows. My intention would be to stick to the managed workflow and get the small VueJS based SPA in one of my views rendered inside a WebView. The SPA is only one small functionality of the app which will draw and export images inside a HTML canvas.

Is there a possibility in the managed flow to have the entry point of a HTML file and load this into a WebView? I searched all tutorials and checked out the documentation but could not find a way to do so. Is it possible to maybe combine expo-asset with WebView?

Thanks for your reply and the useful links

One possibility:

See the “Minimal example with inline HTML” example from the Usage section of the WebView docs.

You could possibly use data:... URLs or inline SVGs for the images and inline the CSS and JavaScript.

I see this comment from a bug referenced from the react-native-webview docs has an example of how you might do something like this with webpack: