How to get the dominant color from an image ?

Hello there,
I would like to know how to get the dominant color from an image (by giving an URL). I searched for libs but all were only for react native and I couldn’t get them working for expo…
Thanks a lot for your answers !

Hi @cleeryy

What React Native libraries did you find for this? With EAS Build and config plugins it’s theoretically possible to use any React Native library in the managed workflow.

Hey @wodin
The main library that I’ve seen the most is rn-dominant-color.
I am still learning a bit expo, so could you clarify EAS builds and config plugins ? I’ve seen it for uploading apps into the AppStore or PlayStore, but how could I get my app only in test mode on my phone as usually do ?
Thanks a lot for your help !

EAS is Expo’s new “Expo Application Services” which currently consists of:

• EAS Build - their new build service that will replace the classic expo build service
  • EAS Submit - this is for submitting your app to the App/Play store. You could, of course, upload the app yourself, but this makes things a lot easier
  • EAS Update - their new OTA updates system. This is currently in preview and should eventually replace the current expo publish

The Expo Go app that you probably use for development includes all of the native code needed by every component of the Expo SDK (actually a few versions of the Expo SDK at once.) This makes it easy to run any Expo app as long as it only depends on the Expo SDK or dependencies written in plain JavaScript (or something that compiles to JavaScript.)

Something like rn-dominant-color includes its own native code, which is not included in the Expo Go app, so if you write an app that uses rn-dominant-color then when it tries to call into that code, Expo Go will get an error.

EAS Build solves two huge problems.