Error with pre populated SQLite file: "Can't find variable: projectDB".

Hi, I’m new in React Native and I wanna connect a prepopulated SQLite database and make a insert with a register form, and when I run my app in the Android Emulator appears that in the following image happens, my app can’t find my .db file. (The error in Android Studio and the file locations):

Other solutions on Internet haven’t worked for me and I don’t understand what I’m doing wrong

Part of my code (without the form):

//Registro.js
import * as React from 'react';

import { useState } from 'react';

import { Text,View, TextInput, ScrollView, StyleSheet, SafeAreaView, Pressable, TouchableOpacity, TouchableHighlight, Alert} from 'react-native';

import Icon from 'react-native-vector-icons/FontAwesome';

import { Ionicons } from '@expo/vector-icons';

import Modal from 'react-native-modal';

// import { Asset } from 'expo-asset';

// import * as FileSystem from 'expo-file-system';

//import { SQLite } from 'expo';

import * as SQLite from 'expo-sqlite';

//Database conexion

const db = SQLite.openDatabase({name: ProjectDB.db, createFromLocation: 1});

//**HERE** I call my db like just as a tutorial would suggest to me
//I tried to do something with Asset, FileSystem and Async and it didn't work for me.

Please, help me, I don’t understand what I may need in my code. Thanks :frowning:

Hey @santiagomilliongloba, please thoroughly follow the steps detailed here and if you still are encountering issues, please create a public github repo that we can clone and run locally on our end to test your code.

Cheers,
Adam

1 Like

Hi @santiagomilliongloba

What Adam says is correct, but the error you are getting actually has nothing to do with SQLite :slight_smile:

Your code is referencing ProjectDB.db in the SQLite.openDatabase() call, but ProjectDB is not defined anywhere.

Your tutorial should show you how/where to define ProjectDB before you call SQLite.openDatabase({ name: ProjectDB.db, ... }).