Best way to connect to remote, server-side database with Expo?

Hi! I’m new to Expo and JavaScript. I’m trying to figure out the best way for my app to connect to a remote RDS database hosted by AWS. I have a Postgres database (although I could change it to SQLite or any other provider) and I want my app to access and edit this database as users use it (i.e. to load info for each user, record posts from a user, etc). I found pg is a library that allows you to connect to remote Postgres databases in JavaScript, but it does not seem to work with Expo because it uses Node Standard Library APIs. Is there a library to perform this task recommended by Expo? I know of the SQLite library but this seems to only be for using client side databases whereas I’d like to be able for my app to connect to a database on my server.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

My SDK Version is 37.0.1 and I’m building my app for IOS and Android.

Hi

Connecting to a database directly from an Expo app (or e.g. JavaScript running in a browser) is not secure. If you do that any hacker would easily gain full access to your database.

For this reason you will need a server between your app and the database that controls the access and makes sure the user of the app is authenticated and that the app only makes allowed and sensible queries. There are basically an infinite number of ways to write this server code. e.g. it could be an app written in PHP or Ruby on Rails or Django or Flask or one of many Java frameworks or JavaScript (running on node) etc. If it’s written in JavaScript you’d be able to use the pg library you found.