Advise how to configure React Navigation of an existing app with expo

Hello I am new to Expo and React Native Development. Already have an existing app without Expo integrated. I want to transform the existing project in an Expo Environment but I am finding it hard how to apply the expo method to register root component. I mean, dont know how to deal registerRootComponent(App); when I don’t have an App root component in my existing project. It is only

export const registerOnboardingScreens = (queryCache: QueryCache) => {
  Navigation.registerComponent(screenNames.Onboarding.Start, () =>
    ProviderWrapper({
      Component: OnboardingStart,
      queryCache,
    }),
  );

to start the initial screen which actually is the Start component.

And setInitialNavigationRoot(); called at index.js to initiate the navigationRoot

export const setInitialNavigationRoot = () => {
  const initialNavigationHandler = new InitialNavigationHandler();
  const refreshSessionHandler = new RefreshSessionHandler();

Navigation.events().registerAppLaunchedListener(async () => {
    await initialNavigationHandler.navigateToRoot();
    await refreshSessionHandler.refreshSession();

SplashScreen.hide();
  });
};

I would very much appreciate any help. I know that the problem lies here but can find the right connections.
Thank you!

Hi @gpjetri

It looks to me like you’re using React Native Navigation. I’m not familiar with that routing library, but I suspect it registers the root component under the hood. This gives me the impression that it must be doing something like that.

Based on the installation instructions RNN is not compatible with Expo Go, but you should in theory be able to use it if you build with EAS Build. I didn’t have a good look, but I think you’ll need a config plugin to get it to work.
Alternatively, you could switch to React Navigation which Expo supports out of the box, but I have no idea how much work that would take.