Add Action Extension to Expo App without Ejecting

I would like to add an Action Extension to my Expo app but I would like to avoid to eject.

I was wondering if it’d be possible to create the AE and upon release (build) eject the Expo app, link the module, export the assets and build the app with turtle-cli.

In development I wouldn’t need the AE and can continue to develop using the expo-cli without ejecting (maybe aliasing the import to a noop). Has anybody done anything like this? Is it even possible? If so can I get some guidance (noob here)?

Update I did manage to get this to work in development.

The workflow looks like the following:

• I clone the app in a temporary folder
  • yarn && expo eject
  • cd ios && pod install && cd …

Creating the Extension

• Open ios/YourApp.xcworkspace
  • Select the App from the left sidebar
  • You’d get another column TARGET, click + at the bottom left
  • Create the Extension

Running the app in development

• run node_modules/react-native/scripts/launchPackager.command
  • yarn ios (it’ll open the simulator and fail - close it)
  • expo start (open the app in the simulator and it’ll work)

Now I am trying to figure out how to build it for distribution (or simulator) with turtle-cli.

I have ejected my expo app to add an Action Extension (I actually eject only at build time because in development I want to keep using Expo).

I build the app (I use turtle-cli with -t simulator ) and when I run the app the extension is not available in Safari. I assume that turtle builds my parent app but not the extension. Is there anything I need to do (linking or something) to get this to work?

Hi. Sorry, I can’t answer your questions about turtle-cli etc., but have you seen this documentation about using the Expo client despite having ejected?

https://docs.expo.io/versions/v36.0.0/bare/using-expo-client/

Thank you for replying! I am thinking that the following bit might apply

Avoid importing the expo package in bare apps